# THE ADVISOR

High moral and ethical standards are essential to assure the trust, respect, and confidence of the people of Alaska.

# SELECT COMMITTEE ON LEGISLATIVE ETHICS

## Deadline to File Annual Ethics Disclosures is February 16

See page 2 for more information

# **Ethics Training for Everyone in 2023!**

AS 24.60.155 requires that all legislative employees who will serve over a 30-day time period complete a legislative ethics course administered by the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics at the start of a new legislative session OR within 30 days of beginning service.

If you or someone in your office has not met the ethics training requirement, or if you have questions about training, email or call the Ethics Office at 907-269-0150.

# **APOC Legislative Financial Disclosures**

**Legislators and legislative directors** must file an annual report with the Alaska Public Offices Commission by Monday, March 15, 2023. Legislative staff is permitted to help with preparing and filing a legislator's annual financial disclosure on state time using a government computer.

If you have filing questions, call APOC at 907-276-4176.

# Are You Wondering If...

You need to file a disclosure?

You have a conflict of interest?

You may hold a job outside of the legislature?

You may add a legislator's personal appointments to a calendar?



For informal advice 907-201-0125



### Committee Members

Skip Cook, Chair Deb Fancher Jerry McBeath Conner Thomas Joyce M. Anderson Sen Gary Stevens Sen Löki Tobin Rep DeLena Johnson Rep Sara Hannan

### Staff

Jerry D. Anderson, Administrator 907-269-0150

Jacqui Yeagle 907-269-8179

### In This Issue

- Ethics Training for Everyone in 2023!
- APOC Legislative Financial Disclosures
- File Annual Ethics Disclosures Now. Deadline Through February 16
- Do I Have to File an Ethics Disclosure?
- ♦ When Do I File an Ethics Disclosure?
- ♦ File Ethics Disclosures Online. It's Easy!
- ♦ Reminder: Legislative Employees Required to Submit Timely Leave Slips

# **Disclosure Notes**

# File Your Annual Ethics Disclosure. Deadline February 16.

All legislators, legislative employees, and public members of the Ethics Committee are required to file annual disclosures within 30 days after the first day of session (February 16 in 2023) for participation in or association with certain individuals or entities. Below is a list of disclosures that require annual filing, along with information that may help you determine whether you need to file a disclosure.

### Question: Are you an elected or appointed officer or board member of an organization?

Answer: If you are a board member of an organization and you **exercise advisory**, **investigatory**, **managerial**, **or supervisory power—even if you do not have voting power**—you must submit an annual disclosure for ongoing associations. Types of organizations generally requiring disclosure include:

- \*Non-profit organizations
- \*For profit organizations
- \*Religious organizations
- \*Educational organizations
- \*Condo Associations
- \*Native Corporations
- \*Governmental or National Boards.

See Advisory Opinion AO 13-02 at http://www.legis.state.ak.us/search/ethics/ and AS 24.60.030(f) for more information.

# Question: Do you have a financial relationship with a legislator, a legislative employee (if one supervises the other), a public official who must file a Financial Disclosure with APOC, or a registered lobbyist?

Answer: If yes, you must file a close economic association disclosure if the financial relationship totals \$250 or more. Ongoing financial relationships must be disclosed annually. Examples include sharing housing in Juneau, participating in a business partnership, or working for pay on a legislator's campaign. The dollar amount of the financial relationship does NOT need to be disclosed; only the fact that a close economic association exists. See AS 24.60.070 for more information.

### Question: Are you a spouse or domestic partner of a registered lobbyist?

Answer: If yes, you must file a close economic association with a lobbyist disclosure. AS 24.60.070 (c) states: When making a disclosure under AS 24.60.070(a) concerning a relationship with a lobbyist to whom a legislative employee is married or who is the legislative employee's domestic partner, the legislative employee shall also disclose the name and address of each employer of the lobbyist and the total monetary value received by the lobbyist from the lobbyist's employer. The legislative employee shall report changes in the employer of the spouse or domestic partner within 48 hours after the change. In this subsection, "employer of the lobbyist" means the person from whom the lobbyist received amounts or things of value for engaging in lobbying on behalf of the person.

See AS 24.60.070 for more information.

### Question: Do you participate in one or more state benefit or loan programs administered by the State of Alaska?

Answer: Certain state benefit and loan programs require disclosure; a list of those programs are listed in Appendix C of the Standards of Conduct Handbook. Go to http://ethics.akleg.gov/documents/ETHICS\_HANDBOOK.pdf to access the handbook online. File a *State Benefit and Loan Programs* disclosure. See AS 24.60.050 for more information.

# Question: Do you receive direct or indirect financial benefit from a state contract, lease, or grant with an annual value of \$5,000 or more?

Answer: If you or a spouse or partner have an interest in a state contract, lease, or grant with an annual value of \$5,000 or more, you must disclose that interest. File the *State Contracts, Leases, and Grants* disclosure. See AS 24.60.040 for more information.

### Question: Are you on contract/agreement to represent a client before a state agency, board, or commission?

Answer: If yes, you must file a *Representation for Compensation* disclosure in 2023, even if you filed a disclosure in 2022. See AS 24.60.100 for more information.

# **Disclosure Notes**

The Ethics Act (AS 24.60) requires legislators, legislative employees, and public members of the Ethics Committee to disclose for the public certain activities and associations in which they engage.

### Do I Have to File an Ethics Disclosure?

Only if you participate in any of the following activities or associations.

- Appointment or reappointment to a board or commission AS 25.60.030(f)
- Participation in a state contract or lease AS 24.60.040
- Participation in a state benefit program or obtained a state loan AS 24.60.050
- Formation of a close economic association (financial relationship) with a legislator, legislative employee, lobbyist, or public official who is required to file a Financial Disclosure with the Alaska Public Offices Commission AS 24.60.070
- Representation of a client for pay before a state agency, board, or commission AS 24.60.100
- Receipt of a gift not connected to legislative status worth \$250 or more in value AS 24.60.080(c)(6)
- Receipt of a gift of travel/hospitality for legislative matters worth \$250 or more in value AS 24.60.080(c)(4)
- Receipt of a gift by a family member due to legislative connection worth \$250 or more in value AS 24.60.080(i)
- Receipt of a gift for compassionate reasons AS 24.60.075(c)
- Receipt of a gift of legal services related to legislative matters AS 24.60.080(c)(8)
- Receipt of gift related to a sanctioned charity event AS 24.60.080(d) and AS 24.60.080(c)(10).
- Receipt by a family member of a gift related to a sanctioned charity event AS 24.60.080(i)

### When Do I File an Ethics Disclosure?

- Within 30 days of the beginning of the association or within 30 days of the date you became subject to the Ethics Act;
- 90 days after final day of service under AS 24.60.115 if the matter or interest was not previously disclosed;
- Some activities and associations require annual disclosures within 30 days after the first day of session (February 16, 2023) for participation in or association with certain individuals or entities. See next page for more information.

### NOTE: You do not need to file a disclosure if you have nothing to report.

# File Ethics Disclosures Online. It's Easy!

- 1. Go to http://intranet.akleg.gov/ & scroll down to click on Login in the File an Ethics Disclosure section.
- 2. Enter the filer's computer login (not email address) and password. NOTE: If the filer is a legislator, use the legislator's computer login and password.
- 3. Click on *Sign in*.
- 4. Choose on the type of disclosure you want to file.
- 5. Complete the form using drop down menus when available. (Remember, **gifts of travel are for the purpose of obtaining information about matters of legislative concern.** Provide complete information about the donor, a one or two sentence narrative that addresses how the information obtained is a matter of legislative concern, and **attach a copy of the agenda**.)
- 5. Check your completed disclosure and click "Proceed."
- 6. Review your disclosure and if correct, press "Submit."

### **Need More Help Filing Your Disclosure?**

Download a four-page detailed instruction handout at https://ethics.akleg.gov/disclosures.php or contact the Ethics Office at 907-269-0150 or 907-269-8179 if you need more information.

### **Contact the Select Committee on Legislative Ethics**

Mailing Address: PO Box 90251 Anchorage, AK 99509-0251 **Physical Location:** Anchorage Legislative Office Building 1500 W Benson Blvd Suite 220 Anchorage, AK 99503 Phone: 907-269-0150 FAX: 907-269-0152 Email: Ethics.Committee@akleg.gov Website: http://ethics.akleg.gov/

## **Reminder: Legislative Employees Required to Submit Timely Leave Slips**

Legislative employees are required to submit a leave slip within 24 hours after return to duty when taking time off from regularly scheduled work hours. Failure to do so could be a violation under the Legislative Ethics Act AS 24.60.030(a)(2).

In the event an ethics complaint is filed alleging participation in campaign or non-legislative activities on government time, the burden of proof would be on the employee to show a pre-approved work schedule *or* show leave time had been requested for the time in question. Prevent the appearance of impropriety and a possible violation of the Legislative Ethics Act by completing and submitting leave slips on a timely basis. LAA policy requires leave slips be submitted within 24 hours after a return to duty.

### If you need to complete late leave slip requests, contact the LAA Personnel Office at 465-3854.

### From the State of Alaska Legislative Staff Employee Handbook Page 8

### **Use of Personal Leave**

All uses of leave must be reported on a Leave Request/Report Form more commonly called a "leave slip". The employee's supervisor should approve use of personal leave. A leave slip should be submitted for each absence during a pay period. Blocks of leave taken over several pay periods should have separate leave slips submitted for each pay period.

Leave slips for planned absences should be completed by the employee, signed by the employee's supervisor and sent to personnel prior to the absence. Leave slips for unplanned absences (illness, accident, emergency, etc.) should be submitted immediately upon the employee's return to work. If an employee is unable to complete the leave slip by the pay period cutoff, it is the responsibility of the supervisor to complete the leave slip and turn it into the Personnel Office.

\*\*[ETHICS OFFICE NOTE: "Comp Time" is not an appropriate accounting for Political Legislative Staff Employees].

### From the State of Alaska Legislative Affairs Agency Handbook Page 6

#### **Use of Personal Leave**

All uses of leave must be reported on a Leave Request/Report Form more commonly called a "leave slip". The employee's supervisor must approve use of personal leave. A leave slip should be submitted for each absence during a pay period. Blocks of leave taken over several pay periods should have separate leave slips submitted for each pay period.

When an employee plans an absence from work, a leave slip should be submitted to the supervisor for approval. Upon return from leave the leave slip should be returned to the supervisor and submitted to the LAA Personnel Office for processing. If the absence from work encompasses a large block of time (more than a couple of days) the leave ship should be turned into the Personnel Office before the employee leaves the office. In the case of unplanned absences, such as an illness, the leave slip should be completed and submitted through the supervisor to the LAA Personnel Office as soon as the employee returns to work. If an employee has an unplanned absence such as illness, they are required to notify their supervisor as soon as possible via phone or e-mail. Preferable notification should occur prior to the start of their shift. The employer reserves the right to request a doctor's slip to accompany any absence due to illness more than three days or for an absence that the supervisor deems suspicious.

If the employee is unable to turn in a leave slip by the pay period deadline, for whatever reason, it is the responsibility of the supervisor to fill out the leave slip and submit it to the Personnel Office.

### DISCLAIMER

Information in this newsletter is given as a general overview. Your circumstances may require more specific information and advice. Contact the Ethics Office if you have any questions as to whether your intended action is in compliance with the Ethics Act AS 24.60.